Press Release

The Global mobile Suppliers Association (GSA) today announced that MediaTek, a leading global fabless chipmaker, has joined the industry association representing the global 4G and 5G mobile ecosystem as a new GSA Executive Member. MediaTek will also be an active member of the GSA Spectrum Group’s 6G joint working group which has begun the process of gathering and building consensus across the mobile ecosystem ahead of next year’s ITU World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC-23) and the lead up to WRC-27.

Welcoming MediaTek as the latest GSA Executive member, Joe Barrett, president of GSA, commented: “IMT 6G spectrum will be recommended at WRC-23, but not until the next conference four years later in 2027 will the frequency bands be debated. However, to get something onto the agenda for WRC-27 you need to propose it at WRC-23 and that is why it is important that the mobile ecosystem works together now to provide contributions to the ITU’s programme as well as the regional and national arenas. Discussions around 6G standards are also highly topical, even if the launch of 6G will be from around the year 2030 onwards. The regulatory work on 6G spectrum and standards will take some ten years and we welcome the timely contribution MediaTek will make as a new GSA Executive Member to this process.”

“As an Executive Member of the GSA, we look forward to working together with key technology industry partners to shape the future of the mobile ecosystem,” said Mingxi Fan, General Manager, Communication System Design at MediaTek. “Combining vision and resources with all technology leaders is the best way to drive innovation in the wireless domain. As a leading global semiconductor supplier in wireless and multimedia, and a leading contributor to 3GPP, MediaTek will further contribute to this joint effort towards the timely delivery of 5G Advanced and 6G technologies and commercial launches. MediaTek is in a prime position to further strengthen GSA, with our contribution spanning from early research to standardization all the way to delivering class-leading SoCs enabling new and richer digital life experiences in consumer and enterprise spaces.”

GSA has been representing the global mobile ecosystem since 1998 and reports extensively on progress of the industry via reports, many free to download from the GSA web site, and the GAMBoD industry databases. GSA Members and Associates get full access to all GSA resources including detailed industry member reports and access to the GAMBoD databases from which GSA reports are compiled. GSA Members also benefit from participation in GSA Working Groups as well as driving GSA messaging and programs.

The full list of GSA Executive Members, Ordinary Members, and Associates includes:

GSA Executive Members:
Apple, Ericsson, Huawei, Intel, MediaTek, Nokia, Qualcomm, Samsung, ZTE

GSA Ordinary Members:
Casa Systems, InterDigital, Keysight Technologies, Queen’s University Belfast, Radisys Corporation, VIAVI

GSA Associates include:
ACMA (Australia Communications & Media Authority), Aeromobile, AnalysysMason, Approve-IT, ARCEP, Astrid, BCG, Buffalo Group, Bureau Veritas, CAICT, Charter Communications Corporation, Communications Regulatory Commission of Mongolia, Compal Inc., ComReg, CTIA, DTMobile, Dekra Automotive, Doro AB, Element Materials Technology, European Communications Office (ECO), EuroTech S.p.A, EXFO, Fibocom, Government of Canada – Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED), Hewlett Packard Enterprise, IFT (Instituto Federal de Telecomunicaciones) Mexico, IMDA (Infocomm Media Development Authority) Singapore, iPLook, KISDI (Korea Information Society Dev. Inst), LSG innovations, Mavenir, Microsoft, Mobileum, MPEG LA LLC, MRT Technology Co. Ltd, NTT Global, Ofcom, Ookla, Orange S.A, Plum Consulting, PrologMobile, Quectel, RADCOM, RealWireless, Rohde & Schwartz, Sequans Communications, SES, Shanghai Cygnus Semiconductor, Shanghai Stoneoim Intelligent Technology, SIGET El Salvador, SIMCOM, Sony, Strategy Analytics, Syniverse, Telecom Technology Centre, Vodacom, Wistron NeWeb Corporation, Wispro Technology Consulting.